• 15:00 – 15:25

PANEL SESSION: Bridging the Gap Between R&D and Industry to Enhance Workforce Development

Ken Shibata photo

Ken Shibita

President Japan


Ken Shibata has been immersed in the semiconductor industry since 1980. He initiated his career at a manufacturing company within Hitachi Semiconductor Division, where he spent the first decade as a backend assembly process engineer. Over the subsequent 10 years, he played a pivotal role in promoting the OSAT business. From 2001 to 2014, Ken contributed significantly to Amkor Technology Japan, ultimately holding the position of Representative Director and Sales VP. Following this, he served as Representative Director and Senior Vice President at UTAC Japan from November 2014 to June 2019. Ken joined ISES on October 15, 2023.

View Full Profile

International Semiconductor Executive Summits (ISES) holds a significant position within the semiconductor industry. Since 2010 we have scaled 8 major successful regional events globally. Our initiatives to date have been fully supported by local governments. For e.g., ISES USA is hosted in partnership with the Greater Phoenix Economic Council, ISES Taiwan is hosted in partnership with ITRI, ISES EU is hosted in partnership with the EU Commission, ISES Southeast Asia in partnership with Invest in Penang. We serve as a platform where senior executives in technology, manufacturing and R&D from various semiconductor companies, technology providers, and related industries gather to exchange information, shape strategies, and discuss the industry’s direction. Our summits have influenced industry trends and decisions due to the high-level discussions that take place.

View Full Profile
Dr. Nahomi Aoto photo

Dr. Nahomi Aoto

Professor by Special Designation

Hiroshima University

Dr. Nahomi Aoto is working at Hiroshima University as Professor by Special Designation and at Tohoku University as Visiting Professor by Special Designation, from August 2023 after she retired from Micron. She specializes in workforce advancement of university students and younger students, especially women, to attract them to semiconductor technology areas. Before university Dr. Aoto had served semiconductor industry from 1983 to 2023 and contributed to process R&D. She worked for NEC, Elpida Memory, Micron Memory Japan and Micron Technology as a researcher/engineer, manager, Sr. director and officer. In 2019 – 2023, Dr. Aoto focused on building good relationships between students/university and semiconductor industry by giving lectures and speeches, and inspired students to work for semiconductor technology and industry. She had also led women leadership program of Micron until her retirement. Dr. Aoto was chosen as one of four final nominees of 2020 Rising Women of Influence Award of Global Semiconductor Alliance (GSA).

View Full Profile
Dr. Kazuaki Sawada photo

Dr. Kazuaki Sawada


Toyohashi University of Technology

Kazuaki Sawada was born in Kumamoto, Japan in 1963. He received a Ph.D. degree in system and information engineering in 1991, from Toyohashi University of Technology, Aichi, Japan. Doctor of Engineering.

From 1991 to 1998, he was an Assistant Professor in the Research Institute of Electronics, Shizuoka University, Shizuoka, Japan. Since 1998, He was a lecturer at the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Toyohashi University of Technology from 1991 to 1998, an associate professor in 2000 and a professor at the Faculty of Engineering, Toyohashi University of Technology since 2007. In 2005, he was a visiting professor at the Technical University of Munich.

Prof. Sawada was Director of the Venture Business Laboratory and Director of the Incubation Facility from 2008 to 2014, Assistant to the university president as a Director of the KOSEN Collaboration Office in 2016, Director of the Electronics-Inspired Interdisciplinary Research Institute (EIIRIS) from 2014 to 2016. He is currently Director of the Institute for Research in Next-Generation Semiconductors and Sensing Science (IRES²) from 2023.

In 2009, he received the 65th Electrical Society of Japan Award for the Promotion of Electric Science (Progress Award). In 2013, he received the Commendation for Science and Technology by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (Research Category). His current research focuses on smart sensors that integrate integrated circuit technology and sensor technology. In particular, he is developing non-label bio-imaging sensing devices and multimodal sensors by integrating bio-related technologies and integrated circuit technologies.


2008年から2014年 ベンチャー・ビジネス・ラボラトリーセンター長、インキュベーション施設長、2014年から2016年 同大学長補佐 高専連携室長、2016年同大学 エレクトロニクス先端融合研究所(EIIRIS)所長、2023年から現在 同大学 次世代半導体・センサ科学研究所(IRES²)所長。

2009年 電気学会 第65回電気学術振興賞(進歩賞)受賞。

2013年 文部科学大臣表彰科学技術賞(研究部門)受賞。 現在の研究テーマは、集積回路技術とセンサ技術を融合したスマートセンサに関する研究。特に、バイオ関連技術と集積回路技術を融合したノンラベル生体画像センシングデバイスおよびマルチモーダルセンサの開発。

View Full Profile
Dr. Tetsuo Endoh

Dr. Tetsuo Endo


Tohoku University

Tetsuo Endoh joined ULSI Research Center Toshiba Co. in 1987 and was engaged in the R&D of NAND Memory. He became a lecturer at the Research Institute of Electrical Communication, Tohoku University in 1995. He is a professor at the Department of Electrical Engineering, the Graduate School of Engineering, Tohoku University and director of the Center for Innovative Integrated Electronic Systems (CIES). His current interests are novel 3D structured device technology, such as Vertical MOSFETs; high-density memory, such as SRAM, DRAM, 3D-NAND memory and STT-MRAM; and beyond-CMOS technology, such as spintronics-based non-volatile Logic for ultralow power systems such as mobile systems, AI systems and IoT systems. He is also interested in power-management technology, such as GaN on Si based power devices and power integrated circuits with low energy loss and low power consumption for automotive applications. He received the 14th Prime Minister’s Award for his Contribution to Industry-Academia-Government Collaboration in 2016.

He received 2017 National Invention Award “the 21st century Encouragement of Invention Prize” on June 12th for his contribution of the invent of 3D-NAND Memory technology. He received a 2020 VLSI Test of Time Award, VLSI Symposium, 2021. He was a Fellow of the IEEE from 2023.

View Full Profile